Articles

Beggar? Homeless? Not Quite

In Life on February 24, 2008 by Petr Bokuvka

I just experienced the most unique Sir-can-you-spare-some-money encounter ever…

A forty-something man. Ten yards from my front door, on the street. You wouldn’t notice him in a crowd. He was not the latest fashion, but he didn’t wear anything that gets you kicked from a tram, either…

To make it short: Good day, sir. I am not a homeless person. Just unfortunate. Just need some money to be able to buy three meals before I get my disability allowance. I attend medical treatment in a mental institute here in Brno. I have a book here that I had to borrow from my mom so I don’t beg for money like a helpless idiot. I used to teach at a Technical College before I was kicked out because of my illness.

The most intelligent will-you-please-help-me request. I gave him CZK 200 ($12) and told him to keep the book and try some more people. It’s not that I don’t want the book, a deal is a deal, but somebody else might really have time to read it, which I don’t have

I have to say I felt pretty good for the rest of the day… Mostly I am encountered by lazy drug-using young men who could well find a job only if they wanted to…but it is obvious that they do not want to…

If I ever meet this gentleman again, I think I will have the tendency to ask him how he is doing…

One Response to “Beggar? Homeless? Not Quite”

  1. You probably won’t have trouble meeting him again, I remember him pulling that crap on me two years ago.

Leave a Reply

