Articles

Palin: A Future Grandma Who Opposes Sex Education

In Life, Love, Politics on September 2, 2008 by Petr Bokuvka Tagged: , , ,

There are many things I love about the States. Food, cars, movie industry, criminal law system, New England, Hartsfield Airport [Atlanta, GA].

There is one thing that I truly hate: let’s call it public morality issues when it comes to private lives of people.

Here’s a CNN story on Bristol Palin’s pregnancy. I can not believe what I am reading:

Palin also revealed that her daughter Bristol is pregnant and will marry the baby’s father.

Sure. Conservative people hate when kids are born to unmarried couples. Why????

John McCain was aware of Bristol Palin’s pregnancy before he chose her mother for his running mate, a top adviser to the Republican presidential candidate said.

The adviser, Doug Holtz-Eakin, said Monday that Palin “was completely vetted by the campaign” before she was chosen. “Sen. McCain knew this and felt in no way did it disqualify her from being vice president,” said an aide who asked not to be named. “Families have difficulties sometimes and lucky for her she has a supportive family.”

Why the hell would one even think for one second that your teen daughter’s pregnancy  would disqualify you from being ANYTHING?? Vice Presidents do not have sex? Vice Presidents do not use condoms that sometime break? Vice Presidents never forget to take their pills? Teen pregnancy is not DIFFICULTY for crying out loud and there is absolutely not reason for finger-pointing and judging.

The McCain aide emphasized that Bristol decided to keep the baby, a decision “supported by her parents.”

Again, what does it have to do with Palin’s ability do be a good POLITICIAN? She is not a sexology expert.

Senior McCain advisers said Palin told McCain about her daughter’s pregnancy in one of their “private conversations” last week before he officially asked her to run with her.

Seems to me that sometimes conservative Americans judge people based on their own value they wish everyone would accept. I am positive that if one of Bush daughters was a lesbian, Bush would not get elected. Or if Bush himself was gay. I just don’t know why most Americans would feel this way. Gays do not make policy decisions?

Quoted in the same article, Barack Obama said it:

Let me be as clear as possible. I think people’s families are off-limits, and people’s children are especially off-limits. This shouldn’t be part of our politics. It has no relevance to Gov. Palin’s performance as governor or her potential performance as a vice president.

Ah, it seems like that Palin [the mother] is worse than I thought. Another CNN story says: In a 2006 Eagle Forum questionnaire, Palin indicated that she supported funding abstinence-until-marriage education programs instead of teaching sex-education programs. “Explicit sex-ed programs will not find my support,” Palin wrote in the conservative group’s questionnaire.

Loud and clear: A) couples who do not have sex before marriage have anything but healthy relationships. Sex MUST WORK in a relationship. It is a part of the chemistry, attraction, etc. You must know how you complete each other sexually, otherwise you will become very frustrated. And B)institutionalized no-sex-before-marriage education programs are the most dangerous thing within the education system. For reasons, see above. Plus, sex is biological necessity. It is a part of male – female interaction, dating, love, romance… And that is why we have sex education, condoms, etc.

So, Mrs. Palin, look where your no-sex attitude got you…

4 Responses to “Palin: A Future Grandma Who Opposes Sex Education”

  1. Hmmm. You make some interesting points. However lets be very clear.

    According to the CDC, “About one-third of girls in the United States get pregnant before age 20”. It is not just the abstinance only educated teens you see.

    As for the programs she supports, I support them also. I was an unwed teen mother. I had sex ed. I knew what contraceptives were and was given free access to them. However I, not my parents; had unprotected sex with my then boyfriend.

    Ask my 11 yr old daughter if I made the right choice.

    I disagree on the chemistry point as well. My ex-husband and I were very much attracted to one another and had a good sex life. We had communiction issues.

    Communication in a honest and loving married couple ensures that the sex will be great. I learned that in my current marriage. Initial attraction is meaningless compared to the love that develops AFTER you say I do.

    I was horrified when my daughter, then 10, came home to tell me about the sex ed they had at school. Naturally we had discussed all the issues in depth before-hand, however, I received no notice that my child would receive this “educational” program at all.

    My kids know where I stand when it comes to pre-marital sex. They also have my example of how hard life was for me early one.

    Face it teen pregnancy is one of the many long term results of the systematic breakdown of the family unit and ethics in America.

    McCain has my vote. His running mate is real.

  2. AD comment nr. 1 (WhyME)::

    Woooow.

    I either agree, understand, accept, or applaud to 99 percent of what you said here. Makes a lot of sense and your case proves that it can be a matter of free-will qualified choice and if the couple is made for each other, they can make it work.

    Thanks for the comment!!

    BTW: maybe it is just the European way of life, or Dawinist and Freudian theories, but I still think that the selection process does involve sex. People are animals, too… 🙂

  3. So, Sarah Palin still believes in opposing Sex Ed, aye?
    Tell me Sarah; How’s that working out for ya? 🙂

    Oh, wait! Maybe it was an immaculate conception!

    (See my blog for photo)

  4. Did you know that one of Cheney’s daughters is gay? This has been known for quite a long time and when it was first made public the media tried to make an issue of it. But at least back then they stopped when Cheney and his wife told them to leave their children out of the spotlight.

    The problem with so many teen pregnancies is that it usually ends up that the child is brought up in a fatherless home, and for as long as we’ve been dealing with single mother homes we’ve learned that those children often have more problems in school, etc. Even Obama has been preaching for men to be more responsible for the babies they help create.

    As for abstinence education, I do think it should be taught right along with the sex ed. There is nothing offensive about telling kids to just not have sex until they are responsible enough to care for a baby without all kinds of government assistance. As soon as my tax dollars get involved in something then it becomes my problem too. If all the unwed mothers weren’t getting public assistance then most people wouldn’t be as worried about it. If they all were being self-responsible, like Palin’s daughter apparently is going to be, then it wouldn’t be a problem. After all, 50 years ago it was common for 17 year old girls to marry already and have babies immediately, but they weren’t becoming burdens on the public.

    It’s good to read other perspectives, though, so thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

