Articles

Slevy! You can’t hide from them

In Economy on December 28, 2008 by Petr Bokuvka Tagged: , ,

slevy_1

It is two days AFTER Christmas and malls are crowded as if it were two days BEFORE Christmas. “Normal” stores are usually closed on Sundays, but malls are open 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. to accommodate everyone who wants to take advantage of the fact that after-Christmas sales are much bigger this year. For some strange reason, the Bata shoe company uses English posters that say “SALE”. Other companies and stores stick with the Czech word “SLEVY”

The Lidove noviny daily newspaper’s Saturday front page article said “Crisis sale started”.

Some products are REALLY ridiculously cheap, e.g. jeans. I am not ashamed to admit that I bought 3 pairs today. It’s not like I don’t have any. They are really good, I like the brand and style and I sort of bought them “in advance”. They can wait in my closet for a couple of months until I have worn out another pair. Sounds a bit ridiculous? Okay then.🙂

slevy_2

Household appliances are also much cheaper now, which is why one could see long lines of customers buying fridges, DVD players or plasma TV’s. I think I should also buy my fridge “in advance”, as I am moving into my new apartment in March.

Leave a Reply

