Articles

Czech Television will air BBC’s Last Night of the Proms. A must-see…

In Culture on September 12, 2009 by Petr Bokuvka Tagged: , , ,

The public-service Czech Television will air BBC’s Last Night of the Proms tonight. I think it is one of the most interesting cultural events. I always enjoy the patriotic songs, especially Land of Hope and Glory. I used to think it was an ordinary graduation song for U.S. university students, but then I learned what it actually meant to the citizens of the United Kingdom. And I saw Sir Mark Elder one year — brilliant.

I do have to admit, though, that I never understood why people move “up and down” right before the finale of Land of Hope and Glory. Anyone?

Leave a Reply

